# The HSRC Board



## Professor Jakes Gerwel (Chair)

DLit et Phil, Vrije Universiteit te Brussel
Chancellor, Rhodes University; Distinguished Professor,
University of the Western Cape; Honorary Professor, University
of Pretoria; Chair of the Nelson Mandela Foundation, the
Mandela Rhodes Foundation, the Allan Gray Orbis Foundation,
South African Airways, Brimstone Investment Corporation
Limited, Aurecon, Life Healthcare, Media24; Vice Chair of
the Peace Parks Foundationand Director of Naspers and Old
Mutual.



## Professor Wally Morrow

PhD, University of London

Prof. Morrow, who died on 11 February 2009, was a well-known academic, whose career as a teacher in South African faculties of education stretched from the early 1970s until the end of the century. During these decades he had a significant influence on the students he taught, and the colleagues with whom he worked.

He served as Professor of Philosophy of Education and Dean of Education at the University of the Western Cape; Dean of Education at the University of Port Elizabeth; and chair of the Ministerial Committee on Teacher Education. He was also a member of the Board of the South African Qualifications Authority, and an independent researcher serving on the research committees of the South African Qualifications Authority and Umalusi, and the accreditation committee of the CHE Higher Education Quality Committee. He received the EASA Honorary Medal for his invaluable contribution to education over the last 43 years.



## Dr Olive Shisana (CEO)

Sc.D, Johns Hopkins University
HSRC CEO; former positions held: Executive Director of the
HSRC's Social Aspects of HIV/AIDS and Health research
programme; Professor of Health Systems at the Medical
University of South Africa; Executive Director, Family
and Community Health at the World Health Organisation,
Switzerland; Director-General of the South African Department
of Health; Group Manager, South African Medical Research
Council; and Acting Chief of Research and Statistics Division,
District of Columbia (local) Government (USA).



#### Mr Max Sisulu

MPA, Harvard University, USA; MA (Economics), Moscow Member of NEC and NWC of the ANC, and the ANC Economic Transformation Committee; former member of SASOL's Group Executive Committee; Board member of NEAF, advisor to the Minister of Environmental Affairs, the Independent Panel for the review of the work of Parliament, Imperial Holdings, African Rainbow Mineral Resolve Group; and Chairman of Ukhamba Holdings, Londani Coal and African General Equity Logistics.



# Mr Sipho Pityana

MSc, University of London

Executive Chairperson: Izingwe Holdings (Pty) Ltd; Non-Executive Director, AngloGold Ashanti; Independent Non-Executive Director: African Oxygen Limited; Chairman of National Students Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS); Non-Executive Chairperson: Onelogix Group Limited (ALTx); Independent Chairman: Munich Reinsurance Company of Africa Limited; Non-Executive Vice Chairperson: Aberdare Cables; Black Business Executive Circle; Black Management Forum; NEPAD Business Group Steering Committee, and Founding trustee of the Business Trust.



# Dr Pumla Gobodo-Madikizela

PhD, University of Cape Town

Associate Professor, Psychology Department, University of Cape Town; Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Association for Education Training; Board member of International Alert (London), the Centre for Conflict Resolution, and the Institute for Justice and Reconciliation; Director of Human Dialogue and Leadership.



## Ms Nomboniso Gasa

BA, University of the Western Cape

Chairperson, Commission on Gender Equality; Board member of the Development Bank of Southern Africa; A feminist-activist, essayist, writer and researcher who has published on a number of issues, especially democratisation in sub-Saharan Africa; National Gender Machineries and Masculinist Representations of African Cultures.



#### **Professor Edward Webster**

PhD, University of the Witwatersrand
Professor Emeritus in the Society, Work and Development
Institute, University of the Witwatersrand (Wits); Past
President of the Research Committee of Labour Movements
for the International Sociological Association; Board member of
the Development Bank of Southern Africa; Top-rated National
Research Foundation sociologist. Senior Fulbright Scholar, US
Research Foundation sociologist.



## Mrs Phumelele Ntombela-Nzimande

B. Soc.Sc (Hons), University of Natal
Chief People Officer, SABC; formerly Deputy DirectorGeneral, Department of Communications, Postal Policy;
Council member of the University of KwaZulu-Natal and Media
Development and Diversity Agency (MDDA).



## Mr Enver Motala

MPhil, University of Warwick, UK
Independent researcher and research co-ordinator for
institutions such as the Education Policy Consortium, the
Centre for Education Policy Development and the Nelson
Mandela Foundation, Chairperson of the Nelson Mandela
Institute for Education and Rural Development.